Prize Giving


Santa Cruz Yacht Club, Santa Cruz, California, USA

23 – 30 September 2012

Day 8 – 30 September 2012 – Prizegiving

Post Race celebrations – Closing Ceremony

The final race (Race 9) was sailed in superb Santa Cruz sailing conditions with sunshine and 16 knots of wind. The race saw several changes in the top 10 positions.

After racing the sailors, organisers and volunteers celebrated in the Championship Marquee.

Tim Sayles IFDCO US Class President welcomed everybody and thanked the many people who had helped make the Championship a success.

Charlie Roskosz (Regatta Chairman and an ex Commodore of the Santa Cruz Yacht Club) also paid tribute to the 60+ Santa Cruz Yacht Club volunteers and others who had assisted.

The members of the Measurement Team and Jury were given mementos as were others who had made special contributions to the event.

Alberto Barenghi (IFDCO President) presented the Santa Cruz Yacht Club with a half model of an FD in recognition and appreciation by the FD Class of the Club’s hosting of the FD World Championship.

Prizes were awarded to the Trophy winners and the top 10 boats overall by the Race Officer – Beau Vrolyk, IFDCO VP Championships – Jan Lechler, IFDCO President – Alberto Barenghi and IFDCO VP Technical – Peter Hinrichsen.

András Domokos(World Champion crew) profusely thanked everybody for a wonderful event.

Final Overall Results after Race 9 net of 2 discards

1st Szabolcs Majthényi & András Domokos – HUN 70 – 15 pts Photo Prizegiving16.jpg

2nd Enno Krammer & Ard Geelkerken – NED 26 – 18 pts Photo Prizegiving15.jpg

3rd Kay-Uwe Lüdtke/Kai Schäfers – GER 88 – 21 pts Photo Prizegiving14.jpg

4th Nicola & Francesco Vespasiani – ITA 4 – 34 pts Photo Prizegiving13.jpg

5th Andrew McKee & Mathew Bismark – NZL 111 – 47 pts Photo Prizegiving12.jpg

6th Peggy Bahr/Torsten Bahr – GER 19 – 52 pts Photo Prizegiving11.jpg

7th Killian Konig & Johannes Brack – GER 113 – 54pts Photo Prizegiving10.jpg

8th Edward Cox & Peter Bevis – AUS 7 56pts Photo Prizegiving9.jpg

9th Ralph Jambor & Jens Schreiber – GER 135 – 60pts Photo Prizegiving8.jpg

10th Andras Suli & David Papp – HUN 13 – 60pts Photo Prizegiving7.jpg

Winners of the Mexican Hat

Team with lowest points with no discards

Szabolcs Majthényi & András Domokos – HUN 70 Photo Prizegiving6.jpg

First Woman

Peggy Bahr – crew Torsten Bahr – GER 19 – (6th Overall) Photo Prizegiving5.jpg

Winners of the 100+ Trophy

Total age of helm + crew over 100 years

Paul Scoffin & Pavel Ruzicka – NZL 145 – (14th Overall) Photo Prizegiving4.jpg

Winners of Pizzorno Trophy

Top team with helm under 26 years old

Nicola & Francesco Vespasiani – ITA4 – (4th overall) Photo Prizegiving3.jpg

Trophy for helms and crew in top 10 overall

Beautifully crafted prizes designed and produced by

Pavel & Yvette Ruzicka – Photo Prizegiving2.jpg

Welcome to Prize Giving at Santa Cruz Photo Prizegiving1.jpg

For more information and final results see

All Photos listed above are ©Richard Phillips – more photos at

The next FD World Championship will be hosted by the Spartacus Yacht Club, Balatonfoldvar, Hungary from 24 May to 1 June 2014  – more details at